“Ready to Where?” in Drunk Monkeys

I’m excited to share my short fiction piece Ready to Where?, which was published in the January 2017 issue of Drunk Monkeys. I hold this piece close to my heart for a few reasons. I read a version of it at one of the MPW student-faculty readings at The Last Bookstore in Downtown LA. It’s also based on my art history master’s thesis, The Model as Muse, which examined fashion photography and fashion; shifts in the museum space and hierarchies of culture; and different constructs of the muse, the model, and gender. Even the description of the thesis reveals its complexities, but with this hopefully more approachable fictionalization of gender and identity constructs, I hope to spark some of the same thought trajectories and conversations (both internal and verbal). Enjoy:

Ready to Where? in Drunk Monkeys

Leave a Reply

